Powell Law Group, PC provides legal services to a large number of individuals charged with traffic offenses, including speeding and reckless driving tickets, accidents, DUIs (Driving Under the Influence), and suspended licenses throughout Virginia, especially in central and southern Virginia along the I-95 and I-85 corridors.
Depending on the type of traffic offense charged, there may be strict penalties in some courts that appear on driving records that also may affect insurance premiums. More serious offenses may even result in the suspension of a driver’s license, or have other consequences.
- Driving Under the Influence
- Reckless Driving by Speed
- Accident Cases
- Criminal Cases
Driving Under the Influence
DUIs are one of the country’s most common crimes. When a person is stopped for driving under the influence, there are a variety of tests that may be used to see if in fact a DUI crime has been committed. In Virginia a driver is considered DUI if the driver has a blood alcohol level equal to or greater than 0.08%. Even if the blood alcohol is not above the legal limit, an individual may still be charged with a DUI if the driver appears to be impaired to some extent.
While a DUI case is one of the most encountered criminal traffic offenses in courts these days, a DUI is often difficult to defend. Over the years DUI laws have become stricter in the Commonwealth of Virginia and the devices to test blood alcohol to assess DUIs have become more sophisticated and more accurate. Because of the stricter statutes and the current sophistication of the testing, defending a DUI case can be complex.
A charge of DUI in Virginia is classified as a class one misdemeanor and is punishable by one year in jail, 12 months suspended license and a $2,500.00 fine. In addition, what can make a DUI case even more complex is that the penalties and charges can change significantly depending on intoxication levels and how many prior DUI charges the person may have already.
Reckless Driving by Speed
Under Virginia law, exceeding the speed limit by 20 mph, or going over 80 mph in a 65 mph zone, is classified as reckless driving.
Reckless driving in Virginia is classified as a class one misdemeanor, which is a criminal offense. Although a speeding ticket is normally punishable by fines of $5.00 per mile over the posted speed limit, the maximum penalty for reckless driving is a $2,500.00 fine, 6 months loss of license in Virginia, and 12 months in jail. Obviously such a charge can result in increased points on your driving record as well as increased insurance premiums.
Powell Law Group, PC represents individuals in reckless driving and other speed related cases, depending on the person’s speed, current driving status, and record. Certain steps can be taken to work towards reducing or even dismissing such charges.
Very often when an accident occurs at least one of the drivers involved walks away with a traffic citation, even when that accident many not have involved any other vehicles. It is important to understand that if a person is charged in an accident case, the resulting court case for that citation only concerns the criminal aspect of the case. There may still be a civil matter or lawsuit at a later time, and it is very possible that what occurs at the traffic hearing could affect any future civil matter or even auto insurance issues.
Frequently, traffic stops result in further charges related to drug possession or other illegal activity for which a driver needs legal defense. It is important to communicate all the charges or potential charges that may arise from a traffic stop related to a reckless driving or DUI charge. There may be other criminal offenses that are unrelated to traffic charges, and we are prepared and qualified to represent you in the event that you receive those charges as well.
Essentially, criminal charges are divided into two categories: misdemeanor and felony offenses. There are three misdemeanor classes as well as an unclassified misdemeanor charge. There are six classes of felonies. The major distinction between misdemeanor and felony charges is the amount of time that a client may spend in prison. If possible imprisonment is for up to a year or less, then the charge is a misdemeanor. If for more than a year, the charge is a felony.
If you have questions regarding a recent traffic or criminal offense in the state of Virginia, please feel free to call us at (804) 794-4030 or toll free at 1-800-996-6503 for a free consultation. We would be glad to discuss your matter and answer any questions you may have. You may also contact us using our online form. All conversations are completely confidential, and you will have no obligation to retain us to represent you.
[CAVEAT: The information relayed in this website is not intended to communicate or give any legal advice, but is rather intended to educate those who visit the website.]